European lotteries, Romana Girandon is the new president

07 June 2023 - 15:25

For the first time in its story, European lotteries elects a female president: Romana Girandon, Ceo of Loterija Slovenije. Rosangela Robbiani, Sisal Spa is one of the new member of El Executive committee.

Written by Redazione

During the European lotteries general assembly on 7 june in Šibenik (Croatia), members elected a new Executive committee for the period 2023-2025 and appointed Romana Girandon, Ceo of Loterija Slovenije, as the first female El president.

‘’I am delighted to be elected El president at this year’s general assembly. This is a real honour, and I would like to thank the members for trusting me to lead El in the next mandate,’’ says Romana Girandon, El president. ‘’Over the coming years, I look forward to fulfilling my role together with a strong and experienced Executive committee, to prove that we, The European lotteries, are here to benefit society. Together we can make a difference and provide a new momentum for a sustainable and responsible future. I would like to thank especially, the outgoing president Hansjörg Höltkemeier, now El honorary president, for his dedication and commitment to El over the past eight years and wish him all the best for the future’’.

 The general assembly took place on the occasion of the 11th El congress & trade show in Šibenik, Croatia from 4- 7 june 2023. Under the overarching theme ‘’Looking forward – Lotteries of the future’’, this was an opportunity to reconnect and learn from inspiring keynote speakers as part of a forward-looking programme.


The newly elected members of the El Executive committee are (in alphabetical order):  Olgierd CieslikI, Totalizator sportowy Sp. z o.o (PL), Romana Girandon, Loterija Slovenije, d.d. (SL) & El president, Jannie Haek, Loterie nationale loterij (BE), Hansjörg Holtkemeier, Deutsche klassenlotterie Berlin (DKLB) (DE) & EL honorary president, Jesús Almendro Huerta, Sociedad estatal de loterías y apuestas del Estado (SELAE) (ES), Jan Karas, OPAP (GR), Jean-Luc Moner-Banet, Loterie romande (CH), Niels Onkenhout, Nederlandse loterij (NL),  Stéphane Pallez, La française des jeux (FDJ) (FR) & EL 1st vice president, Rosangela Robbiani, Sisal Spa (IT) and Olli Sarekoski, Veikkaus Oy (FI) & EL 2nd vice president.
During the General Assembly, El welcomed Loterie korunka and Malta national lottery as new regular members and OpenBet and Fennica gaming as new associate members.
El members adopted updates to the 2019 El Antwerp resolution on advertisement for games of chance, now known as the Antwerp-Šibenik resolution 2023.

Other articles of

Related articles